FTP Between two PDAs

Get help with the Windows Mobile operating system or any Windows Mobile programs.
Forum rules
Please make sure you've read the Board Policies forum, which spells out the rules and guidelines of this forum.

FTP Between two PDAs

Postby mpg187 » Sun Sep 06, 2009 10:10 pm

I want to FTP between two PDAs over Wifi but I have a problem.

On the one to be the "server" I install Mocha FTP Serveer and on the "Client" I use Total Commander CE.

So for an example on my phone I have a folder called "Internal Storage" in which HTCs 4 GB chip is mounted. When I go on my other PDA and FTP to my phone and open Internal Storage (or any other subfolder) it doesn't work. It displays the same folders, if I keep opening the internal storage I get a path like "ftp://ip.addresss/Internal Storage/Internal Storage/Internal Storage/Internal Storage/"

so it goes in a loop.

I am not sure if it's client or the FTP server. I can access sub folders on my phone from my computer over FTP one would think that Total Commander is to blame, but total commander works fine with my NSLU FTP Server...
Proud HTC Touch Owner (Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional)
http://operation420.net
User avatar
mpg187
Admin Wannabe
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: By my PSP, and HTC Touch

Re: FTP Between two PDAs

Postby SV Pocket PC » Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:04 am

I've never tried FTPing between two PDAs, but I can ask some questions.

Can your Total Commander see folders other than Internal Storage on the other PDA? Can your PC's FTP program see the Internal Storage folder correctly? If the answers are "No" and "Yes", then it seems obvious it's a problem with Total Commander (because the FTP server is properly showing the folders to your PC).

Just because Total Commander may work with normal PCs doesn't mean it won't have a problem accessing a server on a different type of device.

i'd probably try another way of getting the files transferred:

  • Bluetooth if you only have a few
  • Copying the files to a memory card and then moving the memory card to the other PDA (assuming they share the same formats)
  • Copying the files to a PC and then to the other PDA (either by syncing or by FTPing to a server)
Hope that helps,

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC
http://www.svpocketpc.com
User avatar
SV Pocket PC
Site Admin
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 1:39 pm
Location: Hollister, CA

Re: FTP Between two PDAs

Postby mpg187 » Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:49 pm

It does the same for every folder like "My Documents" "Application Data" in Total Commander but from a computer it works.

Bluetooth is slower than Wifi, so I prefer Wifi...

My phone doesn't take memory cards so that is not an option.

I have my NSLU as I said above, but if I am outside my house would need to FTP directly into the other PDA.

I think I can still copy files into the Intenal storage folder even though I cannot list its contents. Then once on my phone I can move the files to the right folder.
Proud HTC Touch Owner (Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional)
http://operation420.net
User avatar
mpg187
Admin Wannabe
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: By my PSP, and HTC Touch

Re: FTP Between two PDAs

Postby SV Pocket PC » Mon Sep 07, 2009 11:56 pm

mpg187 wrote:Bluetooth is slower than Wifi, so I prefer Wifi...

Yeah, but if your WiFi solution isn't working, maybe it's time to try something else. That's why I present alternatives. ;)

mpg187 wrote:My phone doesn't take memory cards so that is not an option.

Well that sucks. :D

mpg187 wrote:I have my NSLU as I said above, but if I am outside my house would need to FTP directly into the other PDA.

Not necessarily. If you have your own Web host, you could set up an FTP folder there, or you could use some online file storage service. Either way, you could upload from one device and then download to the other. If all else fails, you could E-mail the files to yourself and retrieve them on the other PDA.

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC
http://www.svpocketpc.com
User avatar
SV Pocket PC
Site Admin
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 1:39 pm
Location: Hollister, CA

Re: FTP Between two PDAs

Postby mpg187 » Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:23 pm

Only one of the PDAs has 3G connectivity, the other only has Wifi. If I am out of town I also may not get (good) 3G connectivity.

Are there online file solutions that I can access from my PDAs?
Proud HTC Touch Owner (Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional)
http://operation420.net
User avatar
mpg187
Admin Wannabe
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: By my PSP, and HTC Touch

Re: FTP Between two PDAs

Postby SV Pocket PC » Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:49 pm

mpg187 wrote:Only one of the PDAs has 3G connectivity, the other only has Wifi. If I am out of town I also may not get (good) 3G connectivity.

Both PDAs have WiFi, though, right?

mpg187 wrote:Are there online file solutions that I can access from my PDAs?

I'm sure there are, but how is your forum hosted? If you have a normal hosting account (as opposed to a free forum account), you should be able to set up an FTP account on your Web host.

If that doesn't work, you could try something like box.net. You can get 1 GB storage free and supposedly access it from any mobile browser.

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC
http://www.svpocketpc.com
User avatar
SV Pocket PC
Site Admin
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 1:39 pm
Location: Hollister, CA

Re: FTP Between two PDAs

Postby mpg187 » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:03 pm

Oh, they both have Wifi, but I am not by an access point I would need to use Adhoc so Online Storage wouldn't work...
Proud HTC Touch Owner (Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional)
http://operation420.net
User avatar
mpg187
Admin Wannabe
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: By my PSP, and HTC Touch


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot] and 4 guests